Situation

Jack has a guitar.
잭은 기타 하나 갖고 있음.

Simple Present vs Present Continuous

Simple Present
Jack plays the guitar.
잭은 평상시에 기타를 침.
the guitar라고 했으니 위에 언급한 a guitar를 일컫는 말임.
a guitar는 기타 수십 수백 수천가지 중에 아무런 기타를 뜻하고
앞에 언급한 그 a guitar를 지칭하기 위해 the를 붙인 것임!

Present Continuous
Jack is not playing the guitar.
잭은 평상시에는 기타를 치지만 현재는 지금 당장은 안 치고 있음.

Simple Present Question
Q: Does he play the guitar?
A: Yes, he does.

Present Continuous Question
Q: Is he playing the guitar?
A: No, he isn't.
Does가 아니라 Is다!!!

Simple Present

1
2
3
                        I do ~
↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓
←-----PAST---------------NOW------------Future-----→

in general, all the time, or sometimes

I love her.
The baby cries.
His father rides a bicycle.
I work at 11:00 to 19:00.
I don't watch TV.
Kangwondo snows a lot in the winter.
What do you usually do in weekends?

Present Continuous

1
2
3
                      I'm doing ~

←-----PAST---------------NOW------------Future-----→

now, at the time of speaking

I'm working.
He is reading a book.
The baby is sleeping.
It's raining.
I'm not playing the computer game.
What are you doing?

Thees verbs is not for Present Continuous.

  • like
  • love
  • want
  • know
  • understand
  • remember
  • depend
  • prefer
  • hate
  • need
  • mean
  • believe
  • forget

These verbs don't use in the Present Continuous. (I am -ing.)
Use only the Simple Present with these verbs.

I loving you.
I love you.
당신을 과거부터 미래까지 사랑한다면 말이 되는데 현재만 사랑한다는 뉘앙스는 좀 이상한 듯…?

Vegetarian isn’t prefering meat.
Vegetarian don’t prefer meat.
채식주의자들이 어느 순간 뚝딱 고기를 바로 당장 이순간 안 먹게 된 게 아니라 과거부터 미래까지 쭉 안 먹는다는 소리가 말이 된다.

I don’t understanding.
I don’t understand.
과거와 미래에는 이해될지 모르는데 현재 이순간에만 이해가 안 된다는 게 말이 되나?
그냥 어떤 현상을 과거부터 이해하지 못해서 현재도 이해하지 못하고 누군가 해결해주지 않는 이상 이해가 가지 않는 게 맞을 것이다.

헷갈려서 다시 정리!

Why do you play the guitar?
Why are you playing the guitar?
He plays the guitar.
He is playing the guitar.

It’s late. I go to home now. Do you come with me?
It’s late. I'm going to home now. Are you coming with me?

What time is it finish your father work every day?
What time does your father finish work every day?

Martin usually walks.
Martin doesn’t usually walks.

Do you drive to work by car?
Do you go to work by car?
drive는 마실나가는 느낌이 go가 더 어울리나 봄!!
아닌가? 둘 다 되나? 몰게땅…

흠냐… 내일은 한 챕터 쉬어가고 be 동사와 일반 동사(do 동사?)의 차이를 좀 공부해야겠다.